The Ultimate Guide To How Do You Get A Real Estate License In Virginia

The Ultimate Guide To How Do You Get A Real Estate License In Virginia

Before we delve deep into the intricacies of how do you get a real estate license in Virginia, let us understand whether it is worth your time and effort to become a real estate professional in the state. You should know whether a career in real estate gives you an edge over other jobs you might hold.

Click here to learn more about how do you get a real estate license in Virginia.

Should You Become A Real Estate Agent In Virginia?

The answer to this question is a firm yes since once you are established in this sector, the sky is the limit to your earning potential and career growth.

The first important point is that you are your boss and there is nobody to set your working hours and days. You can work when you want to keeping the income target in mind. However, also be prepared to keep irregular hours as clients might expect showings when they are free that is over the weekends or holidays.

The second reason why becoming a real estate agent is a rewarding profession is because of its unlimited earning potential. The more you work, the higher are your earnings. Real estate agents typically earn a commission between 2.5 to 3 percent of the sale price of a property.

On a deal of say $250,000 (which is not on the high side), your commission will be around $7500. This is just one deal we are talking about. Hence it is not uncommon for real estate agents to have an annual income in six figures.

Finally, you can make a big difference in people’s lives. By paving the way for them to get their dream home or selling a house quickly by helping them navigate through the complexities of a deal, you will get a huge mental satisfaction.

Now that we know how rewarding the career of a salesperson can be, let us go into details of how do you get a real estate license in Virginia.

Fulfill basic eligibility norms

Ensure that you are at least 18 years old as that is the minimum age requirement to apply for a license. Further, you must be a citizen of the USA and have a social security number. Legally admitted migrants can also apply for a license provided they have working rights in the country. You must also have passed high school or equivalent.

Complete pre-licensing education

The Department of   Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) controls the real estate sector in Virginia. Though the number of hours of pre-licensing education required to get a real estate license varies between states, DPOR has stipulated 60 hours of coursework for aspiring real estate agents in Virginia. Moreover, any course provider selected by a candidate should be on the approved list of DPOR to be counted as education for a real estate license in Virginia.

The pre-licensing coursework is meant to impart knowledge to students about the intricacies of the real estate industry. Topics covered in the coursework include ethics, property management, contract laws, real estate practices and principles, and more. By going through the topics, you will be well-prepared to offer optimized services to your clients in the future.

The courses are available both in an online and classroom setting and you can choose the one that matches your learning style. However, online courses are more convenient as it has the flexibility of any time study from anywhere, provided you have an Internet-enabled device with you. You can study around your daily routine even if you are gainfully employed and looking to switch your career.

If you are looking for quality coursework that is very affordable too, try out the one offered by RealEstateU. Not only are their courses designed by top real estate professionals but they also have a study guide and test prep for you to practice with. The questions in the test prep replicate that in the licensing exam and hence you can face test day with a lot of confidence.

Completing 60 hours of pre-licensing coursework is an important component of “how do you get a real estate license in Virginia”.

Verify your fingerprints

Submit your fingerprints for verification of any past criminal record or history of a felony. You will be eligible for a license in the state only after you get a clearance certificate.

Schedule the licensing exam

Visit the portal of the DPOR and schedule the licensing exam after paying the stipulated fees.

Appear for the licensing exam

Appear for the licensing exam on the scheduled date and pass it. There is a national and a state-specific section and you should clear both the parts. You must score at least 75% to clear the exam. The result in pass/fail format will be informed to you at the center itself soon after completing the test.

Apply for a license

After you pass the license test, apply for a license on the portal of the DPOR. Pay the required fees and submit all the documents. These include a certificate of completing the mandatory 60 hours of pre-licensing education, a fingerprint clearance certificate, and proof of passing the licensing test. A license will now be issued but that will not be activated until the next step is completed.

Find a broker to sponsor you

You must find a broker willing to mentor you in the initial stages of your career. You will be provided office space and sometimes referrals to get your practice going. At this stage, your license will be activated by DPOR.